Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Springfield Symphony Orchestra, Dances of Spring

May 13 @ 7:30 pm - 9:30 pm EDT

The colorful music of American composer Michael Abels opens our program. Liquify captures the shifting moods of a great river with Abels colorful orchestrations and rhythmic verve. Two great composers offer Dance Music — Copland’s Saturday Night Waltz and Frank’s Coquetos offer elegance and exuberance. Finally, Brahms’ famous first symphony brings us from intense struggle to triumphant sunlight.

On concert nights, SSO invites you to join conductor Mark Russell Smith in the Hall at 6:30 pm for lively 30-minute discussions and lectures about that evening’s classical concert program. Classical Conversations are a special feature of classical concert nights, and are free to all ticket holders.

Conductor | Mark Russell Smith

Michael Abels | Liquify
Aaron Copland | Saturday Night Waltz from Rodeo
Gabriela Lena Frank | Coquetos from An Andean Walkabout
Johannes Brahms | Symphony #1


May 13
7:30 pm - 9:30 pm EDT


Symphony Hall
34 Court Street
Springfield, MA 01103
+ Google Map
View Venue Website


Springfield Symphony Orchestra
(413) 733-2291
View Organizer Website