Massachusetts has enacted a travel advisory. Under this new executive order, anyone entering Massachusetts will need to fill out a form summarizing their travel, then either self-isolate for 14 days upon arrival or submit negative COVID test results no more than 72 hours prior to entering the Commonwealth. This is an update to a travel advisory that has been in place for months but adds enforcement mechanisms. Individuals who do not follow the mandatory quarantine order could be fined $500 per day.
As of October 19th, some states with low rates of the disease are on the exempt list: New Hampshire, Connecticut, New York, Maine, Washington DC, New Jersey, Washington, California, Hawaii and Vermont. Both Massachusetts residents and visitors, including college students heading to campus for the start of their fall semesters, must comply with the new policies. More information is available here. https://www.mass.gov/info-details/covid-19-travel-order
Massachusetts is currently in Phase 3 of the Reopening Massachusetts plan.
Businesses that are now open include:
Retail stores with occupancy limits
Child care facilities and day camps
Outdoor dining and limited indoor dining
Hotels and other lodging
Youth sports and outdoor recreation
Outdoor historical sites
Parks & Gardens
Fishing, hunting & boating
Restaurants with indoor dining
Nail salons and tanning salons
Theatres & performance venues – moderate capacity
Movie Theaters – reduced capacity
Visitors and residents must wear masks or cloth face coverings when social distancing is not possible. Businesses that reopen are required to comply with all mandatory safety standards.
Detailed information is provided here.